Our New Year’s Travel Resolutions

Happy New Year, travellers! Hope 2013 is filled with exciting adventures from around the world.

We’ve penned our New Year’s Resolutions (and for once they don’t include going to the gym!). Looks like 2013 will sparkle with more overseas exploration for Not in Kansas Anymore, and we’ll be telling you all about it in the new year.

Wishing you a safe and inspirational new year.

Not in Kansas Anymore team xx

Hannah Silverman

In 2013 I want to travel to… I’ll be ringing in the new year by moving to London Town in January, via a four-night stop over in the city of the most extravagant everything, Dubai. Soon after I’ll be introducing myself to the Statue of Liberty and later toasting St Patty with a pint of guiness (shandy) in Dublin. That brings us to the end of March…

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… Slowing down and trying not to cram as much. I’m a spontaneous traveller but my mind gets over excited about where to go next.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is… meeting up with old friends and exploring new towns off the beaten track locals style. I’m also looking forward to some unconfirmed European escapes with my friends who are currently in the midst of planning adventures of their own.

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… the underwater camera my wonderful parents bought me for Christmas. Snorkelling might not be as frequent in the European winters, but when I inevitably chase down some sun I want to be ready! Also this darling Mimco Raja Travel bag. It’s exxy, but I think I’m in love.

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… bottle feeding lion cubs and embarking on as many safari’s as I could squeeze into my South African itinerary. On safari we were metres away from four of the Big Five, watched baby zebras skip after their mothers and squinted through the dusty darkness as a pack of adolescent lions prepared to pounce on their prey. In Thailand, the crystal clear waters of Raya and Coral Island (the epitome of paradise), dancing on Phi Phi beach and wandering through its jigsaw of a beachside township, 100BHT cuddles with baby lemurs (take-me-home-now adorable), and zip lining through the jungle which was exhilarating, hilarious and spectacular – oh my Buddah!

Jayne Stinson

In 2013 I want to travel to…  Africa, to see the wild animals before they are all gone. Conservationists are working hard but it’s an uphill battle and I don’t want to miss nature’s spectacle.

DSC00947

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… 
to travel in the most eco-sensitive ways possible, including offsetting my carbon emissions, buying sustainable souvenirs and products and making sure I tread lightly on the earth.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is…
 Neutrogena Ultra Sheer SPF30+ and Bushman’s 80% DEET insect repellant. If I had to choose a person, I’d be overjoyed if one of my sisters wanted to travel with me. Hint, hint!

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is…  a new itsy bitsy but powerful digital camera – though I am tempted to get a big sexy SLR instead. Decisions, decisions.

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… two months working as a journalist and travelling in Cambodia. A great career and personal experience.

Callie Watson

In 2013 I want to travel to… when your best friend’s getting married in Sweden next July, what’s a girl to do? Scrape together your pennies and jump on a plane bound for Scandinavia, that’s what. So my 2013 travel plans revolve around a trip to northern Sweden to see my lovely friend Jess and her Nordic fiancé Anders tie the knot. The three-week adventure is short and sweet, but I’m also hoping to see a bit of Denmark and tack on a quick jaunt to Rome or Paris. A cheap flight out of Zurich, Switzerland, means me and my boyfriend will also spend a couple of days here.

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… to be less organised. I’m one of those annoying people who plans everything down to a tee, and while this can be nice, it means I sometimes miss out on the more spontaneous side of travel. As they say, you only live once and I don’t have a mortgage, kids or other commitments forcing me to stay put. The world really is my oyster right now.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is…  I’d love George Clooney to show me around Lake Como or get Brad Pitt to give me a private tour of the south of France (minus Ange and the kids, of course). Realistically, I’m going to Europe with my boyfriend Paul and he rates pretty high on the travel companion list.

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… I found a $200 pair of Jets bathers – a floral one-piece that I fell in love with. I might just buy them under the guise that I ‘need’ a new pair for the European summer. Hopefully it’s warm enough in Sweden and Denmark to actually put them on!

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… there were so many! Climbing Machu Pichhu in Peru, wandering around New York, seeing the pyramids in Egypt and making some wonderful new friends in Japan top the list.

Lauren Novak

In 2013 I want to travel to… Cambodia. I have long wanted to do the South-East Asia trifecta of Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia and was recently inspired to do a volunteer placement in Cambodia by fellow Not in Kansas Anymore author Jayne Stinson.

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… to pack less and to be more spontaneous. I’m a planner, and a worrier, so I always tend to over-pack and overthink. But some of the best experiences come from spontaneity.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is… someone who is social, curious, a bit adventurous but also independent and organised. It also helps if they don’t snore (but then my tendency to overpack usually means I’m armed with earplugs!)

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… a digital SLR camera. There is a small model which is still easy to travel with but the quality makes all the difference compared to a point-and-shoot. The question is whether to buy duty free before my next holiday or hope for a bargain in sales at home…

My travelling highlight for 2012 was…  probably a tie between following the Premier on a work trip to London where I came face to face with Prince William and Kate and spotting real live (large!) crocodiles on a family trip to Kakadu National Park in the NT.

Selga Berzins

In 2013 I want to travel to… while I’m based in London, I’d like to sneak in a few weekend trips to neighbouring countries. Why? Because it’s so cheap and the destinations are so close. Paris is on the list, so too is a skiing weekend in France or Italy. In May, a friend is getting married in Mexico so that might be a goer if my funds hold up.

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… zipping my handbag shut! I am notorious for walking around airports and popular tourist spots with my bag open. It’s a bad habit that I need to change. The other thing is to pack light.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is… anyone who is a local living in the place I’m travelling to. Locals are the ones that know where all the best kept secrets are, including restaurants, beaches, places to stay, sights to see etc. And more times than not, their recommendations are more cost effective.

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… I’d love, love, love to be able to afford a business class flight, so that I can lay down horizontally and actually get some sleep on a long flight!

business class2

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… a week on the Amalfi Coast. My partner and I escaped the hustle and bustle of our working lives at our favourite township, Priano. We had our own private beach that had a bar playing music all day.

Ally Wells

In 2013 I want to travel to… the Barossa Valley, South Australia. Sometimes you just can’t beat exploring in your own back yard.

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… my bank balance. Backpacking on a budget can be fun, but challenging.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is… my soon to be husband!

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… a new car to help me explore this wonderful country I live in.

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… there are so many to choose from. I’d say exploring
Angkorian ruins with my Mum, Dad and sister, is right up there with some of the best
moments of 2012.
Angkorian ruins

Rachael Andrews

In 2013 I want to travel to… 2013 is set to be a year of domestic travel for me, with the possibility of a quick (read: cheap) jaunt to somewhere like Fiji or Thailand. There are plans in place for a Great Ocean Road drive with some glamping and hiking in the Otways and a flit up to Brisbane in winter to catch up with family and hopefully the sun.

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… Stop over planning. I think this is the secret to travelling and it’s something I can hope to realise myself without my boyfriend pointing it out to me.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is… my ‘charming’ boyfriend, because he’s my opposite, he helps me not to over-plan and enjoy the ride.

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… accessories for travel in 2013 will need to expand into some outdoorsy stuff as we prep for the glamping, thinking a comfy outdoor sunlounge and a webercue for when we have to eat on campsite.

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… I had the pleasure of New Zealand and that has to be my highlight, despite it being a work trip. The scenery was amazing and the locals have given me the inside knowledge so that when I go back I know exactly where to go for the ultimate Kiwi experience.

Candice Marcus

In 2013 I want to travel to… England, Ukraine and China. A slightly quirky and macabre holiday bucket list, but I’d love to visit Chernobyl (the site of the 1986 nuclear power plant disaster) when I’m over in that part of the world during my England trip. I’ve always been fascinated by the scale of the disaster, which is widely considered to be the worst in history.

When I travel in 2013 the one thing I want to change as a traveller is… frivolous spending. I would feel so much more in control if I budgeted more realistically about my travel costs (which would also have to include a little budget for clothes purchases, of course!) But at least if I set myself a limit for luxury purchases like presents I can manage the damage.

My ideal travel companion in 2013 is… my boyfriend. Unoriginal I know, but he’s a great planner and his painstaking research means we always get the best experience out of our holiday and never have any regrets about things we didn’t get to do.

My ultimate travel purchase for 2013 is… a decent camera. Holidays always end too soon but I want to be able to capture all the best moments perfectly, so I might have to invest in a semi-professional one.

My travelling highlight for 2012 was… exploring Thailand with my fun gal pal, which included cuddles with tigers, elephant treks, zip-lining through the jungle and sailing through the most exquisite crystal blue waters on a longboat.

DSC01194

What are your travelling resolutions? Have you got big plans for 2013? We’d love you to share in the comments box below.

One thought on “Our New Year’s Travel Resolutions

Leave a Reply

